Healthy Recipe: Roasted Brussels Sprouts & Butternut Squash

Okay, you guys. I cannot overstate my enthusiasm for this recipe. It is SO good for you (superfoods!) and SO tasty. It causes me to make my “THIS FOOD GOES HERE” face:

 

Image

Not my most attractive expression, but one I make often.

 

I was so happy that I’d made an entire roasting pan of this stuff, because even after we ate enormous servings there was still a ton of leftovers (that I was ridiculously eager to get home to and eat the next day).

 

It’s vegan but still incredibly satisfying. It’s flavorful and hearty and perfect for fall… though I see myself being willing to put my oven on 400 even in the dead of summer for this.

 

Image

This photo and the recipe itself are from shutterbean.com!

 

 

Roasted Brussels Sprouts & Butternut Squash

  • 1 1b. Brussels sprouts, trimmed & halved
  • 1 medium butternut squash peeled & cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 cup fresh cranberries
  • 1 apple, cut into 1/2 pieces
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon aged balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • kosher salt & fresh cracked pepper

Preheat oven to 400F. Spread the Brussels sprouts, butternut squash, cranberries, apple, & onions on a large rimmed baking sheet. In a small bowl mix oil, vinegar, and curry powder together. Drizzle over the vegetable mixture and toss to evenly coat. Sprinkle brown sugar over the vegetables and place baking sheet in the oven. Roast for 20 minutes, gently stir and continue to roast for 20-25 minutes longer, or until vegetables are tender and nicely browned.

Nutritional information per serving (1/8 of recipe): Calories: 127, Carbohydrates 24.3 grams, Fat 3.8 grams, Protein 2.5 grams.

Leave a Reply

