63% of a Workout is Better than 0%

Man, this week has been kind of a shitshow on the weight loss/triathlon training adventure. I missed my workouts Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. Today, I went to the pool, but only because my coworker was meeting me there (for which I am so, so grateful!), but I got there late and was only able to do 1400 meters out of the 2400 yards that were on my program before I had to leave for work.

Image

 

On the plus side, even though I was at the pool with all the SRS BSNS athletes, I managed to overcome my self-consciousness and do flip turns most of the time. My OTHER coworker, who used to be a competitive swimmer, taught me last week. My flip turns are pretty sloppy and I’m sure quite entertaining to watch, but I am doing a somersault at the end of the lane and a few seconds later I am swimming in the other direction, so… win?

I am considering another mini-challenge on this blog where I report in every day, but just about my training. I REALLY want to form the habit of doing all of my weekday workouts before work.  The reasons for this are sixfold:

  • Snooze-sleep is not good sleep anyway, and that’s what I currently do between 5am (when I intend to get up and exercise) and 6:30am (when I actually have to get up and start getting ready)
  • Very little can interfere with pre-work plans, but things can and often do come up in the evenings (having to work late, social plans, errands to run, just plain tired, etc.)
  • The things I want to do are always available in the mornings (pools are open, running outside isn’t as hot, it’s not too dark to bike safely)
  • Training after work means having to find motivation and get-up-and-go… TWICE. I have to do it in the morning anyway to start the day, but having to do it AGAIN after work increases my chances of flaking on myself dramatically
  • I feel good and have more energy throughout the day when I exercise in the morning
  • It would mean no stupid calorie checkbook projections!  When I plan to work out in the evening, I’ll often pre-enter my planned exercise into MyFitnessPal to see how many calories I have available for snacks, dinner, etc. Guess what often happens? I’ll eat the calories, but not do the workout. Fail.

So, I think I’ll try that, starting next week.  Til then, everyone!

6 thoughts on “63% of a Workout is Better than 0%

    • Ha! They really are. And there’s so much to remember, like tucking in and when to start and when to breathe in and when to breathe out and where to put your arms. I always forget at least one of these things!

  1. Great win with the flip turns. Don’t get too down on missing a few workouts, just aim to get at least one more than you got this week. I have been close to over trained the last couple of weeks and my body has forced me to slow down a few times . Keep working at it, you have succeeded before and will again. Stay strong.

Leave a Reply

