Setbacks

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal; it is the courage to continue that counts.”

Image

Winston Churchill, a man who probably knew a thing or two about screwing up a diet.

Lately I’ve been messing up on my weight loss adventure. Too many cheat days, too little routine to my life and my exercise. I have to wonder if it’s subconscious self-sabotage; I’m getting close to the half-way point and that nagging voice in my head that says I will never be a thin person has been getting louder lately.

Image

This said 46 last week. 😦

Here are some things I’m trying, to get myself back on track:

  • Do ANYTHING. Go for a 30-minute walk, or make one healthy meal. Even if you’re not having a perfect day and you’re not going to meet your calorie goal or stick to your exercise plan, you can probably find the energy to do just one good thing for yourself. It will help stop the negative feelings that come with ‘falling off the wagon,’ and put you in a better place to get back on.

Image

  • Set small goals. Look at the next month and think about what you can reasonably accomplish. (For instance, I’ve got about 3 weeks before a week-long trip, and I’m going to try and lose 6 pounds by then.)
  • Reevaluate your plan. I decided it’s time to restructure my gamification points. I’m no longer training for a triathlon, and I’m struggling with different things than I was last time I assigned point values. So, I’ve decided to emphasize different aspects of my plan and encourage myself to improve in those areas that I need to most. It’s okay to change things up if what you’re doing isn’t working for you.
  • Improve a little at a time. If you’re going from 4,000 calorie days (hypothetically, of course. Who eats half a pizza and a pumpkin pie shake from Jack in the Box on the same day?), it’s REALLY hard to come back down to 1,400 calories cold turkey. Gradual is fine, and sometimes baby steps are what you need to start with in order to get running again.

Image

 

I know this is easier said than done, but be nice to yourself. You’re not a failure or a bad person if you mess up a little. Imagine a friend was in your position – what would you say to them?

 

Perfection is not a realistic goal – you’re going to have a lazy day, or be tempted by something delicious, or take a trip where being a gluttonous lush is soooooo worth it. Just try and make your slip-ups fewer, farther between, and less serious, and you’ll continue making progress.

8 thoughts on “Setbacks

  1. (Added you to the RSS feed by the way)

    Same here with the goal. I’m .4 pounds from a number I want to reach and I’ve been dancing around it for a few months. Not sure if it’s sabotage, I can’t believe I can’t get to that number or what. Who knows. =)

    I still have about another 8 pounds or so to go but that’s a number I haven’t seen in a while and I’m oh so impatient in waiting for me to reach it.

    • Hey thanks! I need to figure out how to make that easier for people.

      Complete empathy on the goal weight. But you have been rocking it, and you will get there! “Long path has many bumps in the road,” or something wise like that. 🙂

  2. Great post. I would add that you might want to start setting weekly goals and a schedule. There are a few of us bloggers that post week end recaps looking at successes and failures and the goals for the current week. It really helps to keep focus. You can do it.

    • Thanks Chatter! I have been really enjoying your posts, I find them very relatable (running is really hard for me, and I always feel ridiculously slow and clumsy, so it’s nice to know that there are at least other people for whom it is work, and progress comes slowly). You rock!

      • I never thought I would enjoy running, don’t know if you can tell, I love it!!! I just set my goals and then stick to the plan, re-evaluate monthly. I know my progress won’t always be as fast, but it does feel good knowing you can go a little faster and farther each time. You are well motivated and will get to where you want to be. We all rock!!!

  3. I love this– I feel like, in a all realistic thought– it took me 10 years to figure it all out. Even if my actual numbers came down faster than that, it took me 10 years to figure out how to have a sane eating life and stay at a reasonable weight. You are a voice of clarity and wisdom.

Leave a Reply

