Tips for Getting Back on the Wagon

Two tricks, when you’re hitting a plateau or otherwise struggling with your weight loss adventure: shorten your view, and take note of what you’ve already accomplished.

 

SHORT TERM IT UP

I mentioned the other day that when things get rough, it helps to set some short-term goals. “Take it one day at a time” is a cliché for a reason; it WORKS. If you focus on what’s right in front of you, what you can do today, it’s a lot less overwhelming than thinking about how many weeks/months/years there are between you and your ultimate goal. Instead, set a personal benchmark that you can achieve in the next two weeks – like fitting into your skinny jeans, losing 4 pounds, or working out 5 times each week. Really dedicate yourself to it, and when you achieve it, the sense of accomplishment and momentum will propel you toward your next small goal (why is “upward spiral” not a phrase?).

 

GIVE YOURSELF A GOLD STAR

My brain is mean to me. When I’ve had a bad day, calorie-wise, it tells me that nothing I’ve done over the past six months matters, and that I’m right back where I started. I have to actively remind myself – I’m not! One way I do this is looking up my total weight loss on this equivalence list that’s been making the rounds lately:

1 pound = a Guinea Pig
1.5 pounds = a dozen Krispy Kreme glazed donuts
2 pounds = a rack of baby back ribs
3 pounds = an average human brain
4 pounds = an ostrich egg
5 pounds = a Chihuahua

Image
6 pounds = a human skin
7.5 pounds = an average newborn
8 pounds = a human head
10 pounds= chemical additives an American consumes each year
11 pounds = an average housecat
12 pounds = a Bald Eagle
15 pounds = 10 dozen large eggs
16 pounds = a sperm whale’s brain
20 pounds = an automobile tire

Image

23 pounds = amount of pizza an average American eats in a year
24 pounds = a 3-gallon tub of super premium ice cream
25 pounds = an average 2 year old
30 pounds = amount of cheese an average American eats in a year

Image

33 pounds = a cinder block
36 pounds = a mid-size microwave
40 pounds = a 5-gallon bottle of water or an average human leg
44 pounds = an elephants heart
50 pounds = a small bale of hay

Image

55 pounds = a 5000 BTU air conditioner
60 pounds = an elephant’s penis
66 pounds = fats and oils an average American eats in a year
70 pounds = an Irish Setter
77 pounds = a gold brick

80 pounds = the Worlds Largest Ball of Tape
90 pounds = a newborn calf
100 pounds = a 2 month old horse
111 pounds = red meat an average American eats in a year
117 pounds = an average fashion model (and she’s 5’11”)

Image

118 pounds = the complete Encyclopedia Britannica
120 pounds = amount of trash you throw away in a month
130 pounds = a newborn giraffe

Image

138 pounds = potatoes an average American eats in a year
140 pounds = refined sugar an average American eats in a year
144 pounds = an average adult woman (and shes 5’4½”)
150 pounds = the complete Oxford English Dictionary
187 pounds = an average adult man
200 pounds = 2 Bloodhounds
235 pounds = average NFL linebacker

Image

So… what have you lost?

8 thoughts on “Tips for Getting Back on the Wagon

    • That picture is adorable!

      And you seem to be more impressed by dense heaviness than volume (a bale of hay is freaking huge!). Me too, I guess… I remember thinking about the 5-gallon water jugs, and how they seem so heavy and I could never run carrying one… but I kind of did!

      (PS, I just noticed that an elephant’s penis is 16 pounds heavier than his heart. Priorities! :P)

      • Yeah, I probably shouldn’t post pictures if I ever hit the elephant’s penis weight loss stage. 🙂 Do you think that’s an elephant who’s just chilling or one who’s just seen a fine lady elephant? There are important details missing from this list.

  1. I’ve lost 23lbs, the pizza, which is funny cause pizza has become my cheat food every few weeks. I can’t help it it’s so greasy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

