Touchy-Feely Stuff: Affirmations

It’s easy to feel silly when you’re doing self-affirmations. I sometimes laugh when I try, thinking of Stuart Smalley from that old SNL sketch.

 

Image

“I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and gosh darnit – people like me!”

 

But (as usual), my heroes RuPaul and Richard Simmons are absolutely right.

 

Image

“If you can’t love yourself, how in the hell you gonna love somebody else. Can I get an ‘amen’?”

 

Confidence, self-respect and love of self are crucial to any kind of meaningful success. You have to know that you are worthy of your own hard work, and that you deserve happiness, achievement and triumph. The really cool thing is… you are and you do! Just by virtue of your humanity, you are a unique individual who is loved and deserving of good things.

 

This is something I struggle with. Like most people these days, I have insecurities and anxieties that seem insurmountable at times. So I try to battle that negative inner voice with positive self-talk. I’ve found the trick is to back each generality up with a specific piece of evidence. Some days it may be difficult to convince yourself that “I’m awesome!” but you can’t really argue with “I finished a marathon!

 

Here are a few of my fitness-related affirmations (I also talk to myself about being a good person/friend/family member, but only my poor husband and therapist should have to hear about that):

 

  • I am strong and resilient: I have lost 45 pounds and stuck with my weight loss plan for 27 weeks without giving up, even though there have been setbacks and failures.
  • I am enthusiastic and don’t hold myself back:  Warrior Dash. No pants. I rest my case.
  • I am not afraid of hard work: I try to get some kind of exercise every single day. My trainer told me that he loves my work ethic, and that I am an athlete.

 

I encourage you to come up with your own; I guarantee they’ll help you along your way. And I love hearing the affirmations of others, if you would care to share!

8 thoughts on “Touchy-Feely Stuff: Affirmations

  1. Sometimes I feel like i’m falling behind, but then my pants start to fall down cause they are all too big now and i think, NO I worked hard for this and still am and there is the proof!

    • That is AWESOME, congrats!

      I can empathize, I’ve been losing and gaining the same five pounds for about a month and a half. But I have to remind myself that doesn’t invalidate the hard work I’ve done to get where I am, and the only way to get back to consistent progress towards my goal is doing what I’m supposed to, one day at a time. It’s not easy… but I think it’s worth it. Go you!

  2. I wrote my college application essay on the theme of “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and gosh darnit – people like me!”
    The fact that you referenced it here = more evidence of your awesomeness.

    • I remember loving those. And the Jack Handey ones… (“I remember the time I asked Grandpa what he did in the war. At first he didn’t say anything. Then he pulled a frozen T-bone steak from under his shirt. “I stole this,” he said. “No,” I said, “not the store, the war.” He showed me a red mark on his stomach and said he was wounded, but I think it was from the T-bone.”)

Leave a Reply

