Liebster Award

It’s definitely awards season. I know because I’m racking my brain to think of a cutesy, punny dish to bring to the awesome Oscars party we go to every year. (“I Creamed a Cream (Puff)” as a nod to Les Mis is the best I’ve come up with so far. Let the groaning commence.)

Image

This statue is disappointed in my humor.

I also know because I received a nomination of my own! Very exciting! It’s for a Liebster Award, which I looked up so you don’t have to:

Image

Liebster is a German word that means “dearest,” and this award is given to bloggers with less than 200 followers who deserve more recognition.
 
Here are the rules:
  1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog and link to theirs.
  2. Answer questions from your presenter on your blog.
  3. Give your top 5 picks for the award.
  4. Provide 10 questions of your own for your nominees.

Can do!

I was nominated by my intelligent and articulate friend Karin over at Conception’s Bitch – thank you, liebster! She writes honestly about her thoughts and emotions as she and her husband struggle with fertility issues, and it’s very compelling.

Here are my answers to her questions:

What did you want to be when you grew up?
Happy.

What kitchen tool could you not live without?
Garlic press.

Why did you start blogging?
True truth? I was told that in order to get the weight loss book I’m writing published, it’d be helpful to write a blog and be able to show that people are interested in my content. But I’m enjoying it much more than I thought I would, and now writing just to write rather than as part of some master plan.

What has been the greatest benefit thus far to having your blog?
I love the interaction. It’s great connecting with other people who are trying to lose weight, or who do triathlons, or who love food (or all of the above)!

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Happy, still. I’d also like to feel like I do meaningful work, and make enough money not to have to worry about it.

Cats or dogs?
Cats for their independence, low maintenance and general awesomeness… but dogs for their love and devotion. I wish I had the patience and time for a dog.

What short-lived tv show would you most like to see brought back? Why?
The Lost Room. It was this truly amazing miniseries, and I consider it the biggest failing of the Sci Fi Channel (even worse than changing their name to SyFy) that they didn’t pick it up for a full run.

If you could live during any prior period in history, what would it be? Where would you want to be during that time?
The United States, maybe San Francisco, in the 1940s. That style (pinup hair, back seamed stockings, A-line dresses) really works for me, and I loved the optimism and can-do/let’s all do our part attitude people seemed to have in the face of WWII. Not to mention — big band music!

Who is your favorite artist, living or dead?
Van Gogh. Chunky vivid impressionism FTW.

Image

What clique were you in in middle school?
The losers. I did band, and drama, and honors classes; not exactly a recipe for popularity.

How many drinks does it take to get you on the dance floor?
None if all is well, two if social anxiety is messing with me.

bonus: What song would you request or have you requested at a wedding reception?
Let’s just say I asked them to play The Humpty Dance every hour on the hour at my own wedding, so… yeah.

Ok, now I get to nominate blogs and ask questions of my own! Check these guys out*, they rock:

Technicolor Cutie – vintage fashions, makeup and hair by just about the sweetest and most badass lady I know.

Sass & Balderdash – fun, witty observations on day-to-day life by a young lady who’s lost over a hundred pounds.

Frugal Feeding – British writer (I’m guessing because all the measurements are metric) who provides amazing and inexpensive-to-make recipes.

Rants, Rules & Recipes – Exactly what the title states. I love her blog because it’s concise, interesting and immediately useful.

Little Frog School – crafty and creative mama discusses her adventures homeschooling her young children.

And here are my questions for them:

  • What inspired you to start your blog?
  • Fast forward 20 years. What are you most looking forward to?
  • You can only eat one dish for the rest of your life; what do you choose?
  • You’re given $10k and you must spend it all on a vacation. Where do you go?
  • What’s your favorite movie, and why?
  • What’s your worst habit?
  • What’s the most important quality you look for in a friend?
  • Aladdin’s genie offers you three wishes; what’s your first?
  • What’s the quickest way to annoy you?
  • What do you sing at karaoke?

*disclaimer: I am far too lazy to research whether any of them have over 200 followers. #sorryboutit

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award

    • I liked your questions!

      Honestly, I found different rules/descriptions in a bunch of different places (the Liebster Award should have a wiki page, fo reals) and cobbled together something that worked for me. I’m a Liebstercheater! Thanks again for the nomination though. ❤

Leave a Reply

