The Triathlon that Snuck up on Me

I’ve known for some time that April was going to be crazy: a week in Paris, then a week of work, then a sprint triathlon, then a half week of work, then a long weekend in Mexico for a family wedding. And that only brings us up to the 23rd. Damn.

Image

Anyway, it turns out that the Big Rock Sprint Triathlon is on April 13. Which is the day after tomorrow. How did that happen?

The timing is less than ideal. I’ve been sick, and not keeping up with my training. I’ve done no strength workouts at all for a couple weeks, and though my running has been ok, last time I tried biking I fell down and now the seat needs readjustment. I can’t even remember the last time I swam (it’s been at least 3 weeks).  Oops.

Ordinarily I wouldn’t freak out too much; the distances are manageable even though I’m not in the best condition, and I’ve never been fast so I’m not time-obsessed. (I care, and of course I always want to PR, but it’s not the end of the world if I’m not Speedy Gonzalez this time around.) But Alex, Whitney and Teaa are coming, too – it’ll be their first triathlon!  And my Irondad will be there to cheer us on. I just hope I don’t embarrass myself.

If nothing else, the setting is beautiful:

Image

I’m going to try to let go of the worry, just do my best and have fun. That’s what it’s all about, right?

Today I get to pick up my LAST wetsuit rental (I get my very own suit as part of the package I’m buying on New Bike Day!), and Alex and I are going to do some open water swimming at the beach. It’s funny – when I’m with even one other person, I am fearless and love to swim in the ocean. But when I’m by myself, especially when I’m wearing a wetsuit, I am irrationally terrified of being eaten by sharks.

Image

Upsetting photoshop job is upsetting.

Luckily my wonderful husband will be there to protect me. By punching a shark in the nose or something.

Have a great weekend, everybody! By my next post, I will have a second triathlon under my belt.

Leave a Reply

