Check-in Wednesday

Welp, weight on Monday was 195.6. Wrong direction, but I’m glad it’s not much worse – I came down with a bad cold and had almost a whole week of missed workouts and unhealthy eating.

It did open my eyes to something I’ve been doing that winds up being a form of self-sabotage, though: setting weight loss ‘due dates.’

Somewhere in my teens, I got the idea that a healthy and reasonable amount of weight loss was 2lbs per week. So ever since then, every time I decide I’m “really going to do this!” (which numbers in the hundreds), I sit down and figure out the date by which I should be a supermodel at my goal weight. Or, if I have something coming up (like, say, an A race triathlon, or a wedding, or a stage performance), I’ll figure out what my weight ‘should’ be by then. Just subtract two pounds every seven days!

It hasn’t worked, not even once.

And worse than that, when I inevitably have a bad week – whether that’s making poor choices or doing everything right but having the scale just not cooperate – and get off-track, it’s seriously demotivating, and I often mess up or give up entirely. Kind of… the exact opposite of what’s going to get me where I want to be.

Image

So, I’m not going to do that anymore. I know what I need to do to reach my long-term goals – eat healthfully, stick to my training plan, drink lots of water, and get enough sleep, CONSISTENTLY – so my short-term goals should be about getting that done, as much of the time as possible. I’m going to focus on earning my As in my game plan. I know that if I do that, the weight will come off. I can’t say when I’ll get to my goal weight, but I know it will happen if I keep doing what I should.

4 thoughts on “Check-in Wednesday

  1. Yes! Bookmark this! Come back to it! I’ve seen you be down about losing over a pound and it bums me out, because I see it as the right direction and significantly so. We just gotta keep seeing the long road, and remember how many freaking bumps are going to be in it. I hit 50 pounds lost in November and it took until last month for me to get back on track and start losing again. I so wanted to be wearing a tiny bikini this summer instead of trying to decide if it’s even worth replacing last summer’s swimsuit when it’s only a tiny bit too big on me. But we shall persevere! Keep on keepin’ on diet twin! ❤

Leave a Reply

