On the Right Track

So, yesterday I officially got back on track with my first as-scheduled training workout in a long time. Admittedly, it was super-easy… a one-hour Zone 2 bike ride with friends. But it felt great, and was a good first step in the right direction.

Image

It was something like this. Hopefully next time, I’ll remember to take a photo…

Coach Irondad (who, I must mention, just CRUSHED Vineman – his second full iron-distance triathlon –  improving his time by nearly half an hour!) gave me my schedule through Big Kahuna, and I just put it all in my Google calendar. I expect there will be a lot of saying “no” to social plans this month. Must focus.

Image

In an email, Coach Irondad said “Off days: Please note the off days and help them fulfill their destiny. I know you are not fond of them. Sorry about that.” This made me laugh. I struggle with off-days for two reasons: first, I like to do at least 30 minutes of activity (even if it’s just walking) every single day, because I find that I do better with weight loss when I’m locked into a routine. Second, I always try to do too much, and make everything work, which results in an overstuffed calendar. So I’m always playing Tetris with the things I have to do, and shuffling activities and workouts around. I’ll skip a workout in favor of a social event one day and try to wiggle the missed workout into the off day. I’m making an effort to stop that – to prioritize training and do what I’m supposed to do, when I’m supposed to do it.

He also shared this article, which is helpful. It goes into the science of why recovery days are needed to improve fitness. Interesting stuff!

Leave a Reply

