Wow.

Monday was my last day at the job I’ve worked at since November, 2010. Tuesday was my first day at my new job (I’ve returned to teaching high school English).

OMG.

I am totally overwhelmed. Like, in full freak-out mode over here. I knew it would be rough. I knew I was starting out way behind – teaching classes/grade levels I’ve never taught, starting on the second day of school with no time to really plan, when everybody else has been prepping for weeks. But I didn’t think of the millions of other ways I’d be unprepared and so far behind.

So – any blog post I write is a victory. Any training I get in is a victory. Any day when I don’t stress-eat half a Hot n’ Ready pizza from Little Caesar’s* is a victory. I’m really hoping that in a month or two I’ll get to a point where my stress level is manageable, I’ve achieved some sort of work-life balance, and I’ve got a routine going that works. Right now, I’m not there.

I did sign up for a new gym membership (since I can no longer super-conveniently work out in the same building I work in) yesterday, and I got my training in for the past three days. So that’s something.

*Today is not that day.

5 thoughts on “Wow.

Leave a Reply

