Yikes

It’s crazy how much of an impact one’s job has on one’s fitness – and by “one’s” I mean “my,” and by “fitness” I mean “complete lack thereof.” Let’s recap:

July: I think it would be great to go back to teaching English.
August: I accept a position at a charter high school and transition out of my office job at a law firm. I put everything else in my life on hold and work my ass off (60-80 hour work weeks) but feel like I’m drowning anyway.
September: I resign because the high school (and maybe education in general these days?) is 700 kinds of broken and messed up.
October: My life is a cavalcade of interviews, temporary work, and ill-advised trips that were planned (and mostly paid for) months ago.

I had to defer my registration for the 70.3 in Santa Cruz until next year’s race. I haven’t tracked my food in MyFitnessPal for months. I’ve exercised occasionally, but not nearly enough. Until this month, I hadn’t blogged. I’ve gained back almost 15 pounds. It was a pretty epic fall off the wagon.

Image

Now that I’m starting to feel like myself again, I’m finding it really difficult to get back ON the wagon, because there is no routine to my life. Every day I have to figure out what I’m doing, where I’m going, when (and where and what) I’ll be eating… all that stuff that kind of goes on autopilot when you have some semblance of structure. It’s hard to make good choices when they require so much extra effort and planning.

But if I fall down 1304983 times, I just need to get back up 1304984 times… so that’s what I’m doing. Warrior Dash tomorrow (wooo!) and a concerted effort to track my calories and make it to the gym at least three times next week. These are my short term goals. Let’s do this!

8 thoughts on “Yikes

    • Thanks! There was definitely a time when I didn’t. I keep telling myself it’s ok that, for a few months, I had to go into survival mode. But now that the crisis is past, I need to get back to taking good care of myself.

  1. With you on the structure thing, I had to schedule my off time or end of season workouts just to feel sane. Good to see you are back and ready to kick but.

  2. Pingback: The Sting | The Game Plan

Leave a Reply

