HITS Napa Olympic: A Race Report in 25 Haiku

1:23am
Oh, seriously?
Quality Inn Vacaville:
THE place to party

Image

2:37am
Not cute anymore
Get a life, high school students
Drink more quietly

3:45am
9 minute snooze, please
It’s cruel and unusual
Waking at this hour

3:54am
ALRIGHT already
I am up and brushing teeth
Whose idea was this?

4:00am
No tattoos are found
In my participant pack
Aw – my favorite part!

4:15am
Almost ready now
24-hour Subway
Race day breakfast noms

6:00am
A sweet parking spot
Long lines at port-a-johns
Plenty of time, though

Image
6:10am
“Stool, bike to the right”
It’s not that complicated
Please stop repeating

6:55am
Time to find Alex
In a sea of neoprene
Good luck on the sprint!

7:10am
Eight trips to the car
Forget each thing separately
Hide keys in a bush

7:35am
Found Coach Irondad!
Chihuahua is keeping warm
Inside his hoodie

7:51am
Olympic females
Off and swimming in the lake
Balmy sixties temp

7:55am
All this beige algae
It’s incredibly nasty
Try to avoid mouth

8:40am
Yep, I’m still real slow
But that was a pleasant swim
And I’m not dead last!

1

8:48am
Two minutes biking
Just enough to catch my breath
Before the hills begin

9:05am
Sprint girl returning
Walking bike – are you ok?
She needs my air pump

9:07am
My trusty Lezyne
Brings new life to sad back tire
And then we part ways

9:52am
A beautiful day!
I can handle all these hills
It will just take time

2

10:25am
By mile 17
Every new climb an insult
I’m so over it

11:05am
So much gratitude
Being off my bicycle
I would rather run!

11:06am
Well, I’d rather walk
Hills continue to plague me
Still: forward motion

11:12am
Irondad again!
In full running gear, no less
He has crashed the course

11:40am
I’ve made some new friends
Walk uphill and run back down
Lather, rinse, repeat

12:20pm
No more walking now
Jog the last few hundred yards
Finish line’s in sight

3

12:21pm
My cheering family
This Star Trek-looking medal
Who could ask for more?

Image

 

Image

Leave a Reply

