Non-scale Victories

This past weekend, I celebrated my 30-mumble birthday with a day at Disneyland.  I love going to the park, but I made it clear that I was going to be selfish and play it by ear as to what time I’d be leaving.  There have been times in the past when being in the sun all day, walking several miles in between rides, etc. has quite done me in.  I’ve gotten exhausted and miserable and sore, so I decided to avoid all that by going home exactly when I wanted to, and not worrying about being beholden to anyone else’s preferences.  I figured I’d probably make it til about 5 or 6pm before calling it a day.

Try almost 11:30pm.

I spent more than 14 hours enjoying the park with my friends and family before getting tired or feeling any muscular fatigue. We walked about 12 miles.  We did pretty much everything we wanted to do.  It was a really fun, happy day… and I can’t help but think that my diet and exercise habits over the past few weeks were the main determining factor in being able to enjoy it as long as I did.  Since June 6, I’ve been eating a ton more fruits and veggies than I had been, and my portion sizes are appropriate.  I’ve been much more active.  I’ve been taking better care of myself.  And I really think the changes I’ve been making showed up in my energy and stamina at Disneyland.

One of the reasons I want to lose weight is that I don’t want my size or health to stand in the way of anything I want to do – ever.  It felt pretty great to have the energy and fitness to be able to stay at the park and enjoy a special day with people I love.  Whatever the number on the scale is this week, I know I’m making progress.

20160625_07411520160625_094100

Leave a Reply

